Russia bans entry to 154 members of UK’s House of Lords


File photo of Russian President Vladimir Putin. (Image: Reuters)

Among those listed was William Hague, a former Foreign Secretary and leader of the Conservative Party in opposition

  • AFP Moscow
  • Last update:May 24, 2022, 9:22 PM IST

The Russian Foreign Ministry announced on Tuesday that it was imposing an entry ban on 154 members of the House of Lords of the British Parliament in retaliation for sanctions against Russian senators over Ukraine.

Among those listed was William Hague, a former foreign secretary and leader of the Conservative Party in opposition.

The blacklist does not include Russian-born press baron Evgeny Lebedev, who was granted a controversial peerage by Prime Minister Boris Johnson’s government in 2020.

Lebedev’s close ties to Johnson have raised questions since his father Alexander openly admitted he was a KGB agent.

Evgeny Lebedev, owner of the London Evening Standard and Independent newspapers, denounced Moscow’s actions in Ukraine.

The House of Lords has around 800 members, most of whom are life peers, meaning their title is not inherited.

Russia’s Foreign Ministry said the decision was taken ‘on a reciprocal basis’ in response to the British government’s imposition of sanctions in March on nearly all members of Russia’s Federation Council, its upper house of parliament.

Russia last month banned 287 British MPs from entering another tit-for-tat movement, saying it had singled out those who had played “the most active role” in crafting anti-sanctions. -Russians and contributed to “Russophobic hysteria”.

Read all the latest IPL 2022 news, breaking news and live updates here.


Comments are closed.